Regular Meeting Shell Rock City Council January 2, 2024

Mayor Mike Klinefelter called the January 2, 2024 regular session of the Shell Rock City Council to order at 7:00 pm in the Council Chambers at 802 N Public Road, Shell Rock, Iowa with the Pledge of Allegiance. Councilors present: David Beenen, Mark Berglund, Adam Fox, Jared Krull, and Garrett Schuldt. Others present: Dave Lehman, Jessica Duncan, Mike Tellinghuisen, Bruce Toenjes, Jessica Meyer, Tim Meeker, Linda Berglund, Deb Beenen, and other interested parties.

Motion by Schuldt seconded by Beenen to approve the agenda with any additions. Ayes- Fox, Berglund, Krull, Beenen, and Schuldt. Nays-None. Motion carried 5:0.

Motion by Fox seconded by Krull to approve the consent agenda that included: Minutes of the December 5, 2023 meeting, the Payment of the Bills, and the Financial Reports for December 2023. Roll Call Vote: Ayes- Fox, Berglund, Krull, Beenen, and Schuldt. Nays-None. Motion carried 5:0.

Mayor Klinefelter made the following appointments for the 2024 calendar year. Mayor Pro Tem: Jared Krull. City Property Committee: Adam Fox & Garrett Schuldt. City Clean Up Committee: Mike Klinefelter & Jessica Meyer. Employee Relations Committee: Garrett Schuldt & Mark Berglund. Finance Committee: Jared Krull & David Beenen. Special Events Committee: Mike Klinefelter & Jessica Meyer. Street Committee: Mark Berglund & Jared Krull. Tree Committee: Adam Fox, David Beenen, & Mike Tellinghuisen. Water & Sewer Committee: Jared Krull & Garrett Schuldt. Boyd Building Committee: David Lehman, Mark Berglund, Jessica Meyer, & Mike Tellinghuisen. Motion by Schuldt seconded by Beenen to approve the mayor's appointments for the 2024 calendar year. Ayes- Fox, Berglund, Krull, Beenen, and Schuldt. Nays-None. Motion carried 5:0.

Motion by Schuldt seconded by Beenen to approve the appointment of Ed Willert to the Butler County Solid Waste Commission. Ayes- Fox, Berglund, Krull, Beenen, and Schuldt. Nays-None. Motion carried 5:0.

Motion by Schuldt seconded by Krull to approve the following appointments for the 2024 calendar year. City Attorney: Nelson and Toenjes Law Office. City Clerk/Treasurer: Jessica Meyer. City Depository: CUSB. City Newspaper: Waverly Newspapers. Fire Chief: Matthew Mohn. First Responder Chief: Jessica Duncan. Ayes- Fox, Berglund, Krull, Beenen, and Schuldt. Nays-None. Motion carried 5:0. Mike Tellinghuisen, Public Works Director reported that the insurance check for the damage to the Boyd Building was delivered. The Sportsmen have built the ice rink structure and plan to fill it this week, Pool CEU classes will be in January. The public works truck had minor damage due to a deer hit.

Jessica Duncan, First Responder Chief reported on calls last month. Mayor requested that a key for City Hall be allocated for the Cemetery Board.

Motion by Beenen seconded by Fox to appoint David McCann as the Shell Rock River Watershed Representative. Ayes- Fox, Berglund, Krull, Beenen, and Schuldt. Nays-None. Motion carried 5:0.

Work sessions for the upcoming fiscal year 2025 budget were set for January 16 & 17 at 6 p.m. and January 20 at 10 a.m. at City Hall.

Motion by Schuldt seconded by Beenen to approve Terry Arends Car Show on June 9, 2024, the use of the Boyd Building, and South Cherry Street closures from Main Street to Prospect Street. Ayes- Fox, Berglund, Krull, Beenen, and Schuldt. Nays-None. Motion carried 5:0.

Motion by Schuldt seconded by Beenen to set bid opening date and time for wastewater treatment plant improvements project to February 1, 2024 at 10 a.m. by ZOOM. Roll Call Vote: Ayes- Fox, Berglund, Krull, Beenen, and Schuldt. Nays-None. Motion carried 5:0.

Motion by Beenen seconded by Fox to set Public Hearing date and time on the plans, specifications, contract documents, and estimated cost for the wastewater treatment plant improvements project for February 6, 2024 at 7 p.m. Roll Call Vote: Ayes- Fox, Berglund, Krull, Beenen, and Schuldt. Nays-None. Motion carried 5:0.

Motion by Krull seconded by Schuldt to extend Tim Meeker's property project until July 1, 2024 with tear down and clean up being completed in full at that time. Ayes- Fox, Berglund, Krull, Beenen, and Schuldt. Nays-None. Motion carried 5:0.

Motion by Berglund to adjourn at 7:49 p.m.

EXPENDITURES		
AMERICAN RED CROSS	TRAINING	180.00
AT&T	LONG DISTANCE	11.21
BUTLER COUNTY AUDITOR	ELECTION	382.96
BUTLER COUNTY ENGINEER	DIESEL FIRE DEPT	190.30
BUTLER COUNTY SOLID WASTE	SOLID WASTE DISPOSAL	4,755.00

CAPITAL ONE	LIBRARY BOOKS, DVD	141.19
CITY LAUNDERING CO.	FLOOR MATS	206.41
CREATIVE PLANNING TECHNOLOGY		373.23
CUSB	HEALTH SAVINGS	1,129.17
CUSB	HEALTH SAVINGS	1,129.17
DILLAVOU OIL COMPANY	DIESEL	889.24
INTERNAL REVENUE SERVICE	FED/FICA TAX	3,057.65
INTERNAL REVENUE SERVICE	FED/FICA TAX	3,037.65
INTERNAL REVENUE SERVICE	FED/FICA TAX	
ELAN FINANCIAL SERVICES	POSTAGE	2,638.17
ELSAMILLER ELECTRIC	ELEC SERVICE CALL	1,354.77
EMERGENCY MEDICAL PRODUCTS		105.00
FIDELITY SECURITY LIFE	MEDICAL SUPPLIES VISION INS	184.40
GFC LEASING - WI		45.54
MICHAEL GREEN	COPIER LEASE	346.19
		98.04
IOWA DEPARTMENT OF REVENUE	SALES TAX	212.92
IOWA DEPARTMENT OF REVENUE	WATER EXCISE TAX	630.91
IPERS	IPERS REGULAR	3,846.96
JENDRO, INC	GARBAGE COLLECTIONS	6,385.97
JOHN DEERE FINANCIAL	STREET SUPPLIES	238.02
		3,200.00
		90.00
MENARDS - CEDAR FALLS	SUPPLIES	146.60
MICROBAC LABORATORIES INC	TESTING	893.25
MIDAMERICAN ENERGY CO	ELECTRIC & GAS	5,897.51
NELSON & TOENJES		1,548.75
	PEST CONTROL	57.99
PATCHES TOEBE	STOCKING STROLL	300.00
U.S. POSTAL SERVICE	POSTAGE	594.00
PREMIER PROPERTY DEVELOPMENT	TIF REBATE	7,299.77
REINTS, JEFF AND MICHELLE	WILLOW TREE TIF V	43,697.84
RYAN EXTERMINATING	PEST CONTROL	71.00
IOWA DEPT OF REVENUE	STATE TAXES	829.05
STOKES WELDING	BACKHOE PARTS	69.05
STOREY KENWORTHY	UTILITY BILLS	890.71
SYNCB/AMAZON	BOOKS	137.30
UMB BANK NA	POOL BOND FEE	600.00
UMB BANK NA	ESB BOND FEE	250.00
WAVERLY NEWSPAPERS	PUBLICATION	251.91
KERI WILSON	MILEAGE	96.32
PAYROLL CHECKS		19,161.48
**** REPORT TOTAL ****		114,865.33

EXPENDITURES BY FUND		
GENERAL	26,284.50	
ROAD USE TAX	7,209.26	
TIF III - WILLOW	43,697.84	
TIF IV - INDUSTRIAL	7,299.77	
DEBT SERVICE	850.00	
WATER	6,903.37	
SEWER	9,355.52	
LANDFILL/GARBAGE	13,265.07	
REVENUE		
GENERAL	25,237.49	
ROAD USE TAX	15,272.21	
EMPLOYEE BENEFITS	2,361.61	
LOCAL OPTION SALES TAX	11,624.83	
WILLOW -TIF III	1,057.53	
LOW TO MODERATE INCOME	676.11	
DEBT SERVICE	5,922.90	
CAPITAL PROJECTS	1,897.50	
EMERGENCY SERVICES BLDG	410.00	
SPECIAL EVENTS	2,450.00	
WATER	12,006.29	
WATER DEPOSITS	447.00	
WATER DEPRECIATION	79.84	
SEWER	16,428.54	
SEWER DEPRECIATION	50.76	
LANDFILL/GARBAGE	12,325.82	
**** REVENUE TOTAL ****	108,248.43	
2023 CALENDAR YEAR PAYROLL		
ELIZABETH C BIBLER	1,460.46	
DONALD G BONZER	665.00	
EVA T BRUNS	3,197.28	
JAMI J COOPER	9,573.90	
ELLAH M CUVELIER	3,033.12	
DANIELLE C DICKENS	8,337.00	
MIA J ENGLIN	1,435.10	
SAMUEL E ENGLIN	1,202.83	
KATELYN M FRIEDMAN	2,671.73	
SALLY C GADE	1,879.65	
DAVID J GREEN	54,571.35	
MARILYN K HARDEE	36,722.89	
MAGGIE R HART	4,877.22	
	·,-·· 	

KAILEY M HJELMELAND	4,115.89
ROBYN A HOLDEN	770.00
MICHELLE R HOLMGAARD	1,185.60
AUTUMN R KAPPMEYER	1,100.67
MIKE KLINEFELTER	665.00
JARED KRULL	770.00
BAILEY M LUBBEN	7,095.56
JESSICA A MEYER	34,983.09
LINDSEY R MILLER	1,259.67
NATHAN M MILLER	739.30
EMMA M MUNSON	1,448.54
LAUREN F MUNSON	278.93
DEBBIE D NIEMAN	20,958.00
KARISSA N OLDENBURGER	2,455.76
JEWEL M OLMSTEAD	3,446.66
ARLANA S POLAND	1,747.35
MICHELLE L RANDOLPH	22,408.75
NORA A SCHUELER	3,201.96
GARRETT SCHULDT	735.00
MARLA SCOTT	268.25
MCKENNA J SPROLE	2,359.96
MIKE TELLINGHUISEN	93,176.37
EMMA J THOMPSON	399.36
ALANDRIA M TROWBRIDGE	7,668.84
MADALYN G VANKLEY	3,996.84
BRAXTON D WESTENDORF	914.35
CAYSON M WESTENDORF	860.70
MADDOX H WESTENDORF	1,072.10
LARRY YOUNG	2,004.00
TOTAL EMPLOYEE WAGES 2023	351,714.03

Mike Klinefelter, Mayor ATTEST: Jessica Meyer, City Clerk